The 2016 Sprint Unlimited: Sprint Cup Series Drivers Eligible to Race

Photo - Getty Images

Photo – Getty Images

After the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series 2015 finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway in November, fans are ready for drivers to return to the track and this weekend in the Sprint Unlimited on Saturday night at Daytona International Speedway. Those Sprint Cup drivers eligible to race this weekend will gain some valuable seat time before their first points race, the Daytona 500 in a couple of weeks.

Who’s eligible?

2015 Coors Light Pole Winners: AJ Allmendinger, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Jeff Gordon, and Joey Logano.

Former Sprint Unlimited Winners: Jeff Gordon and Tony Stewart. Since Gordon is now retired, Casey Mears becomes eligible to race in his spot. Because Stewart is not racing due to his back injury, Ricky Stenhouse Jr becomes eligible to race the event.

Former Daytona 500 Coors Light Pole Winners: Greg Biffle, Austin Dillon, David Gilliland, Danica Patrick and Martin Truex Jr.

2015 Chase for the Sprint Cup Drivers: Clint Bowyer, Jamie McMurray, Paul Menard and Ryan Newman.

2015 Sprint Cup Series Championship Points: Aric Almirola and Kyle Larson.

Since Jeff Gordon and Tony Stewart are not racing, Casey Mears and Ricky Stenhouse are the next eligible drivers, based on their 2015 point standings. Those drivers next in line, based on their 2015 point standings are, Sam Hornish Jr, David Ragan and Trevor Bayne.

Watch the Sprint Unlimited at Daytona this Saturday, February 13th on FOX at 8 pm ET. Qualifying for the Can-Am Duel at Daytona is on Sunday, February 14th. The Can-Am Duel at Daytona for the Daytona 500 driver lineup, begins Thursday, February 18th on FOX Sports 1 at 7 pm ET. The Daytona 500 is Sunday, February 21st on FOX at 1 pm ET.

Come on...we know you have something to say.....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.