Ty Gibbs Dominates at Iowa Speedway

Ty Gibbs dominates at Iowa Speedway in the ARCA Menards Series Shore Lunch 150 on Saturday, July 18, 2020.
Ty Gibbs the driver of the No. 18 Monster Energy/Terrible Herbst/ORCA Toyota, celebrates winning the Shore Lunch 150 for the ARCA Menards Series at Iowa Speedway on Saturday, July 18, 2020. Photo by Barry Cantrell/ARCA Racing

Ty Gibbs dominates at Iowa Speedway in the ARCA Menards Series Shore Lunch 150 on Saturday, July 18th to earn his second straight win.

It was yet another impressive accomplishment from 17-year-old Ty Gibbs with a dominating run in the Shore Lunch 150 at Iowa Speedway. Gibbs led 140 laps on his way to his second-straight victory, and third win in his last four starts. Gibbs also won in the ARCA Menards Series East earlier this summer along with the West finale to close out the 2019 season. He’s won five of his last eight starts in the three ARCA Series.

The Top-Ten

Throughout the Shore Lunch 150, Gibbs’ challengers include Chandler Smith, Hailie Deegan, and Sam Mayer. In the end, the Joe Gibbs Racing development driver finished 1.410 seconds ahead of Mayer. Mayer was closing the gap, but scrapped the wall, ending his charge for the lead.

Bret Holmes finished in third place, with Chandler Smith and Taylor Gray rounding out the top-five. Self was able to overcome electrical issues at Iowa to finish sixth. That was enough to keep the points lead by 21 markers over Holmes in the ARCA Menards Series Point Standings. Making their series debut at Iowa, Max McLaughlin and Kory Swanson finished seventh and eighth. Gracie Trotter and Thad Moffitt round out the top-ten finishers.

The Shore Lunch 150 Results

The starting lineup for the Shore Lunch 150 was set via the Sioux Chief Showdown point standings. Gibbs started fifth and in ten laps he was able to take the lead.

Due the age requirement of 18 at some tracks, Gibbs cannot run the full ARCA Menards Series schedule. Over the past two years, he has eight wins with eight runner-up finishes in 25 starts across the ARCA Menards Series including the East and West.

By winning the third round of the Sioux Chief Showdown at Iowa, Gibbs has gained ground on the points leader, Chandler Smith. Smith won the first two events at Phoenix and Lucas Oil Raceway. Smith now leads Michael Self by ten points and Gibbs by 13 markers.

The one bad day for Gibbs came at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis after he finished 15th due to mechanical issues with his No. 18 Toyota.

Next Up

The ARCA Menards Series now heads to Kansas Speedway this Saturday, July 25th. The next Sioux Chief Showdown event is a doubleheader at Ohio’s Toledo Speedway on July 31st and August 1st.

Come on...we know you have something to say.....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.