NASCAR Camping World Truck Series News and Notes – Friday, April 6, 2018

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series heads into a four-week hiatus while the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series and NASCAR Xfinity Series go to Texas, Bristol, Richmond, and Talladega.

The Trucks return to the track at Dover International Speedway for the JEGS 200 on Friday, May 4th at 5 pm ET with pre-race coverage on FOX Sports 1, MRN, and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio at 4:30 pm ET.

Taking a Look Back

Looking back on the last ten seasons and the first race back after the early month-long hiatus in April/May 2011 was the one year in that time frame in which the trucks returned from a break at Dover. Kyle Busch was the race winner that year.

Here’s a look at the last ten seasons and the race winners of the first race back on track after the spring break:

2017 – Kansas: Kyle Busch
2016 – Kansas: William Byron
2015 – Kansas: Matt Crafton
2014 – Kansas: Kyle Busch
2013 – Charlotte: Kyle Busch
2012 – Charlotte: Justin Lofton
2011 – Dover: Kyle Busch
2010 – Kansas: Johnny Sauter
2009 – Kansas: Mike Skinner
2008 – Kansas: Ron Hornaday Jr

Brett Moffitt Cruisin’ Along

After a crash at Daytona took him out before the halfway point of the season-opener, Brett Moffitt has finished no worse the third in 2018.

The 2015 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year won the second race of the season at Atlanta and then placed third at both Las Vegas and Martinsville. His 2018 race results account for half of his career top-five (six) and one-third of his career top-ten (nine) finishes in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

Now the driver of the No. 16 Toyota Tundra for Hattori Racing Enterprises finds himself virtually locked into the Playoffs with his win and sitting third in the points standings heading into the month-long break.

Heating Up at Martinsville

John Hunter Nemechek’s part-time 2018 campaign in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series got off to a rough start as he finished 25th and 21st at Daytona and Las Vegas, respectively.

But he brought out the sunshine at Martinsville, winning in his third outing of the season in a race that was delayed until Monday due to snow. He took the lead on a restart with 31 laps to go and held off Kyle Benjamin, who was making his series debut, for the win.

The win brought his career win total to six in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, and he’s now won at least one race each season for the past four years, starting in 2015.

Also Noteworthy…

Impressive Debut: Kyle Benjamin doesn’t just ease in when he makes a series debut in NASCAR, he crashes the party. The 20-year-old started on the front row in each of his five NASCAR Xfinity Series races in his debut season last year. He then brought home a second-place finish at Martinsville in his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series debut in the No. 54 DGR-Crosley Toyota.

Sunoco Rookie Standings Update: Myatt Snider, who finished sixth as the top rookie of the race at Martinsville, is tied atop the Sunoco Rookie of the Year standings with Dalton Sargeant. Sargeant finished 11th at ‘The Paperclip’ and Todd Gilliland, making his season debut, was the third-highest finishing rookie in 14th.

Come on...we know you have something to say.....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.