NASCAR K&N Pro Series in Search of Bragging Rights at Iowa Speedway

NASCAR K&N Pro Series from last season at Iowa Speedway. Who will win bragging rights on Friday, July 27th? Photo – Daniel Shirey/Getty Images

The Daytona 500 of the NASCAR K&N Pro Series has arrived at Iowa Speedway and on Friday night the winning driver of the Casey’s General Store 150 will have bragging rights.  Drivers are looking forward to the race at 7:30 pm ET on Friday night as much as the fans with everyone anticipating some fun on the track while drivers vie for the lead. 

This is the 16th time, the K&N East and West are meeting at Iowa Speedway and when one looks at the past winner’s list it reflects a who’s who in racing starting with 16-year-old Joey Logano’s victory over Kevin Harvick in the first event at the 1.058-mile oval in America’s Heartland.

Some will recall Chase Elliott scoring his first NASCAR victory in 2012 and Cole Custer did the same in 2013. Ben Rhodes won at for the K&N East on his way to winning the championship in 2014. Brandon McReynolds remains the only driver to win twice in the same season – 2015. Todd Gilliland won two years consecutively in 2016 and ’17 giving Bill McAnally Racing a four-race winning streak at Iowa.

Since 2011 when the NASCAR Next program started an up-and-coming driver from the program or an alum has won in ten of 11 races at ‘The Fastest Short Track on the Planet.’ Sunrise Ford Racing’s Ryan Partridge now leads his teammate Derek Thorn by just one point in the K&N West while Tyler Ankrum leads his DGR Crosley teammate Tyler Dippel by 30 points.

There’s a lot to watch for with teams competing against their fellow series competitors as well as competitors from the opposing K&N East or West Series. Sunrise Ford Racing versus Bill McAnally Racing from the West and DGR Crosley Racing versus Bassett Racing and MDM Motorsports in the East.  The drivers are setting the stage with their first practice at 3 pm ET, the last practice at 4:15 pm ET, and qualifying at 6 pm ET.  The action is about to begin with the rubber hitting the track at 8:30 pm ET on Friday night.

This is a do not miss event for fans of racing and everyone can follow the action on the NASCAR Hometracks website via Race Central.  Fans can also watch the action on NBCSN on August 2nd at 6 pm ET, so be sure to check your local listings and set your DVR to record now.

Come on...we know you have something to say.....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.