Ty Gibbs Grabs Another Win

Ty Gibbs grabs another win in the ARCA Menards Series General Tire 150 at Kentucky Speedway on Saturday, July 11th.
TY Gibbs, driver of the No. 18 Monster/Terrible Herbst/ORCA Toyota, celebrates winning in Victory Lane after the General Tire 150 for the ARCA Menards Series at Kentucky Speedway in Sparta, Kentucky on Saturday, July 11, 2020. Photo by Aaron Doster/ARCA Racing

Ty Gibbs grabs another win in the ARCA Menards Series General Tire 150 at Kentucky Speedway on Saturday, July 11th, for his second victory of the season.

Putting his driving skills on display, Ty Gibbs was able to keep his car from spinning into the wall while battling for the lead with less than 40 laps to go. Charging hard for the top-spot, Gibbs took his No. 18 machine to the front for the win in the General Tire 150 on Saturday afternoon at Kentucky Speedway.

Ty Gibbs is now the youngest driver to win in the Bluegrass track history at just 17 years, nine months, and seven days. Previously, the record was held by NASCAR driver Kyle Busch, who had just turned 18 when he won the ARCA race at the 1.5-mile track in 2003.

The General Tire 150 Race Results

The grandson of NASCAR and NFL Hall of Famer, Joe Gibbs, the Joe Gibbs Racing development driver saved his car from a potential race-ending wreck. Ty Gibbs was trying to keep the series points leader, Michael Self, behind him on a restart just after the second of two race breaks. The two drivers made contact, sending both sideways, out of the groove, and out of the lead.

Gibbs was quick to get his car back in the groove and to the front, passing Bret Holmes for the lead. Holmes was able to take the lead when Gibbs and Self made contact. Gibbs then drove away to victory by 1.247 seconds over Holmes.

The win is the second in four ARCA Menards Series starts this year for Gibbs and his seventh win across the ARCA Menards, East, and West Series throughout the last two seasons.

Friday’s win marks a rebound from one of Gibb’s worst finishes a week ago at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis. Engine issues left him with a disappointing 15th-place finish.

Holmes was in pursuit of his first career win in 67 starts but instead settled for a career-best second-place finish. Self salvaged a third-place finish, with Sam Mayer and Drew Dollar rounding out the top-five. Ryan Repko was sixth, with Derek Griffin, Ryan Huff, Tanner Gray, and Jason Kitzmiller rounding out the top-ten.

The ARCA Menards Series Point Standings

Hailie Deegan was second in the series point standings at the start of the race but was involved in an accident on lap 77 after contact with Drew Dollar while racing for the fourth position. She finished the event in 14th-place. Her disappointing finish moves Holmes and Dollar to second-place in the point standings with both just 22 points behind Self, the points leader. Deegan drops to fourth and is now 24 points outside the lead.

Next Up

The ARCA Menards Series is back in action this Saturday, July 18th, in the Shore Lunch 150 at Iowa Speedway. The race is the seventh of the championship season and the third of the Sioux Chief Showdown competition. Live coverage is available on MAVTV with streaming on NBC Gold’s TrackPass.

Come on...we know you have something to say.....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.