Championship 4 Crew Chiefs in the NASCAR Xfinity Series

Championship 4 crew chiefs in the NASCAR Xfinity Series are featured before the Desert Diamond Casino West Valley 200 at Phoenix Raceway on Saturday.

On Saturday, November 7th, four NASCAR Xfinity Series crew chiefs will lead their Championship 4 drivers in the Desert Diamond Casino West Valley 200. Justin Allgaier, Chase Briscoe, Austin Cindric, and Justin Haley will compete for the 2020 series title. Their crew chiefs, Jason Burdett, Richard Boswell, Brian Wilson, and Alex Yontz will lead their respective teams. The race begins at 5 pm ET on NBCSN, MRN, and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

Championship 4 Crew Chiefs in the NASCAR Xfinity Series

Justin Allgaier (No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro)

Crew Chief Jason Burdett

Jason Burdett, crew chief for the JR Motorsport’s No. 7 Chevrolet team, began his racing career with several local teams around the Watkins Glen area. In 1998, he transitioned to North Carolina and joined Robert Yates Racing. A year later, he helped Dale Jarrett’s team to the title as a tire specialist. 

He then moved to Hendrick Motorsports, and in 2001 Burdett earned a second championship with driver Jeff Gordon. In 2007, Burdett joined Michael Waltrip Racing, reuniting with Jarrett, and serving as crew chief of the No. 44 team in the latter half of the season. It was there he honed his skills at the top level of NASCAR competition and leveraged the experience into a return to Hendrick Motorsports in 2008. 

In the five years since Burdett excelled as car chief on the No. 24 team from 2008-10 before moving over to Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s No. 88 team from 2011-14. In 2015, he joined JR Motorsports as crew chief of the No. 7 car with driver Regan Smith; the pair finished fourth in series standings that season.

Allgaier replaced Smith in the No. 7 car in 2016 and the duo has worked together ever since producing 11 wins and four Championship 4 appearances.

NASCAR Xfinity Series Point Standings

Chase Briscoe (No. 98 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford Mustang)

Crew Chief Richard Boswell

As the child of a former Xfinity Series driver, Richard Boswell can appreciate and understand the needs of his driver and team.

Boswell’s motorsports career started by helping his father, Dickie Boswell, working on his late model stock car. His father competed in 57 Xfinity Series races spread over six seasons in the 1980s. Boswell followed in his father’s footsteps and went on to win multiple World Karting Association national titles in 1998.

He graduated to late model racing in 2001 and Dale Earnhardt Jr. noticed Boswell’s talent and brought him over to JR Motorsports in 2006. He piloted the team’s entry in the Hooters Pro Cup Series and made 19 starts with three top-fives while also working on the Xfinity Series program for the team.

It was then then that Boswell decided to focus on becoming a top crew chief in NASCAR. He earned a mechanical engineering degree from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, all while racing on his own. In 2014, Boswell worked on Hendrick Motorsports’ No. 48 of Jimmie Johnson and returned to JR Motorsports in 2015.

Two years later, Boswell transitioned to Stewart-Haas Racing to lead the team’s part-time effort. Boswell worked with veterans Kevin Harvick and Arica Almirola.

After back-to-back part-time schedules with various drivers at SHR, Boswell joined Chase Briscoe full-time in 2019. Together, they have ten wins, 29 top-fives, and 47 top-tens.

Austin Cindric (No. 22 Team Penske Ford Mustang)

Crew Chief Brian Wilson

Brian Wilson, crew chief or the No. 22 Team Penske Ford, joined Team Penske in 2004. He first served as a shock specialist with the team. Since then, he has served as a race engineer on the No. 22 NASCAR Xfinity Series team as well as the No. 2 NASCAR Cup Series team.

Wilson played a role in the first two championships. He was the race engineer on the No. 22 team that won the Xfinity Series title in 2010 and was also the race engineer in 2012 on the No. 2 Cup Series team. In 2016,

Team Penske announced that Wilson would be the crew chief for the No. 22 Xfinity Series Ford. Since he was named crew chief in 2016, he has 129 starts, 17 wins, 66 top-fives, and 99 top-tens. With Austin Cindric, they won the regular-season championship in September this year.

Justin Haley (No. 11 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet Camaro)

Crew Chief Alex Yontz

Alex Yontz, crew chief for the No. 11 Chevrolet of Justin Haley, has been crew chief since July 2019.

Yontz is in his 18th year in racing after getting his start in go-karts at a young age. He went on to race in various series including Legends cars, Late Models, ASA National Series, ARCA, and the Gander Trucks.

Yontz has 55 starts as a crew chief for Kaulig Racing in the Xfinity Series. He has four wins, 14 top-fives, and 30 top-tens. This is his first Championship 4 appearance.

Come on...we know you have something to say.....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.