Zane Smith Takes his Second NASCAR Truck Series Win at COTA

AUSTIN, TEXAS – MARCH 26: Zane Smith, driver of the #38 Speedco Ford, celebrates in victory lane after winning the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series – XPEL 225 at Circuit of The Americas on March 26, 2022, in Austin, Texas. (Photo by Logan Riely/Getty Images)

Zane Smith takes his second NASCAR Truck Series win at COTA for Front Row Motorsports in the XPEL 225 on Saturday afternoon.

AUSTIN, Texas – Ultimately, Zane Smith was out front when it paid off Saturday afternoon at the Circuit of The Americas road course. He led only 11 of the 46 laps  – winning Stage 1, Stage 2 and then took the race lead with two laps remaining in the second overtime period to earn the victory in the XPEL 225 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race.

Zane Smith Takes his Second NASCAR Truck Series Win at COTA

It marked Smith’s second win of the 2022 season – fifth of his career – and the second consecutive win at the 3.41-mile, 20-turn COTA circuit for his Front Row Motorsports team, who celebrated in Victory Lane last year with driver Todd Gilliland.

Veteran Kyle Busch – who led a race-best 31 laps – led the vast majority of the race and held the point at the start of that final overtime. But his closest challengers Stewart Friesen and Alex Bowman went in hard to the 11th turn a hairpin turn, making it a three-wide door-to-door-to-door trying to wrestle the lead from Busch, the series all-time winningest driver.

As that was happening, the 22-year-old Californian Smith simply drove under the slowed trio, taking the lead and then holding off John Hunter Nemechek for the win by 3.529-seconds.

“Once I got back up there, I was doing my best to read how those guys were racing,” said Smith, who drives the No. 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford.

“It happened like that in such dramatic fashion and had to come from the back, it’s just a huge statement for this team really. Every single race this year I’ve been in contention to win.

“This whole team, just awesome to see how it all worked out,” he added.

“Scored some awesome points today,” Smith said.

The Rest of the Best

Busch recovered to finish third, followed by 2021 series champion Ben Rhodes and Busch’s teammate Chandler Smith. Christian Eckes, Tyler Ankrum, Carson Hocevar, Friesen, and Grant Enfinger rounded out the top-ten.

Missed Opportunity for Several

Had his bold move to the front paid off, it would have been Friesen’s first win in the series since 2019 and the first career victory for Hocevar, who was also running among the top three late in the race but got shuffled back in the wild restart action. Parker Kligerman, who had run among the top five all afternoon, also ran out of gas and ultimately finished 19th.

“Felt like we deserved that one, but it doesn’t matter if you deserve it or not, you’ve got to be the first one to the checkered flag and we were not,” Busch said.

The race featured ten lead changes among eight drivers and had eight caution periods.

“In races like this, you know it’s never over till it’s over and that [race] is the very definition of that,” Smith said.

The NASCAR Truck Series Point Standings

The top-five effort keeps championship leaders Smith and Rhodes close. Smith now holds a 15-point edge over Rhodes.

Up Next

The series takes a break before returning to competition on April 7th in the Blue-Emu Maximum Pain Relief 200 at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway (8 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Race – 2nd Annual XPEL 225

Circuit of The Americas

Austin, Texas

Saturday, March 26, 2022

               1. (2)  Zane Smith, Ford, 46.

               2. (11)  John Hunter Nemechek, Toyota, 46.

               3. (5)  Kyle Busch(i), Toyota, 46.

               4. (13)  Ben Rhodes, Toyota, 46.

               5. (12)  Chandler Smith, Toyota, 46.

               6. (8)  Christian Eckes, Toyota, 46.

               7. (10)  Tyler Ankrum, Toyota, 46.

               8. (6)  Carson Hocevar, Chevrolet, 46.

               9. (7)  Stewart Friesen, Toyota, 46.

               10. (16)  Grant Enfinger, Chevrolet, 46.

               11. (24)  Lawless Alan #, Chevrolet, 46.

               12. (14)  Derek Kraus, Chevrolet, 46.

               13. (20)  Matt Crafton, Toyota, 46.

               14. (18)  Kaz Grala, Chevrolet, 46.

               15. (17)  Kris Wright, Chevrolet, 46.

               16. (22)  Chase Purdy, Toyota, 46.

               17. (28)  Tanner Gray, Ford, 46.

               18. (31)  Tate Fogleman, Toyota, 46.

               19. (4)  Parker Kligerman, Chevrolet, 46.

               20. (32)  Brad Perez, Toyota, 46.

               21. (34)  Will Rodgers(i), Toyota, 46.

               22. (25)  Timmy Hill, Toyota, 46.

               23. (30)  Spencer Boyd, Chevrolet, 46.

               24. (26)  Colby Howard, Chevrolet, 46.

               25. (3)  Alex Bowman(i), Chevrolet, 46.

               26. (9)  Taylor Gray, Ford, 46.

               27. (15)  Austin Wayne Self, Chevrolet, 45.

               28. (21)  Logan Bearden, Chevrolet, Fuel Pump, 42.

               29. (33)  Dean Thompson #, Chevrolet, 40.

               30. (19)  Ty Majeski, Toyota, 39.

               31. (36)  Matt DiBenedetto, Chevrolet, Rear Gear, 32.

               32. (27)  Jack Wood #, Chevrolet, DVP, 31.

               33. (35)  Matt Jaskol, Toyota, Electrical, 30.

               34. (23)  Hailie Deegan, Ford, Accident, 29.

               35. (29)  Blaine Perkins #, Chevrolet, Transmission, 3.

               36. (1)  Sheldon Creed(i), Chevrolet, Drivetrain, 1.

The XPEL 225 Stats

Average Speed of Race Winner:  64.908 mph.

Time of Race:  Two Hrs, 25 Mins, 0 Secs. The Margin of Victory:  3.529 Seconds.

Caution Flags:  Eight for 12 laps.

Lead Changes:  Ten among six drivers.

Lap Leaders:   S. Creed(i) 0;A. Bowman(i) 1;K. Busch(i) 2-8;P. Kligerman 9;Z. Smith 10-13;K. Busch(i) 14-20;C. Smith 21;J. Nemechek 22;Z. Smith 23-27;K. Busch(i) 28-44;Z. Smith 45-46.

Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Lead, Laps Led):  Kyle Busch(i) three times for 31 laps; Zane Smith three times for 11 laps; John Hunter Nemechek one time for one lap; Alex Bowman(i) one time for one lap; Parker Kligerman one time for one lap; Chandler Smith one time for one lap.

Stage 1 Top-Ten: 38,52,99,19,16,25,56,98,51,75

Stage 2 Top-Ten: 38,99,19,51,18,25,52,42,56,75