Chase Briscoe Continues his Dominance in the Xfinity Series Playoffs

Chase Briscoe continues his dominance in the NASCAR Xfinity Series Playoffs by winning the Alsco 300 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – SEPTEMBER 26: Chase Briscoe, driver of the No. 98 FIELDS Ford, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Xfinity Series Alsco 300 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on September 26, 2020, in Las Vegas, Nevada. Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Chase Briscoe continues his dominance in the NASCAR Xfinity Series Playoffs by winning the Alsco 300 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Beginning his 2020 NASCAR Xfinity Series Playoff run at Las Vegas Motor Speedway Saturday night Chase Briscoe is racing just as he has competed for so much of the regular-season – out front.

Chase Briscoe Continues his Dominance

Briscoe led a dominating and career-high 165 of the 200-laps, sweeping both stage victories in the Alsco 300 Playoff opener en route to his series-best eighth victory of the season. He joins NASCAR legends Sam Ard and Jack Ingram as the only drivers to amass eight wins in the opening 27 races of an Xfinity Series season.

Briscoe’s No. 98 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford beat Las Vegas native Noah Gragson’s No. 9, JR Motorsports Chevy, by a healthy 1.370-seconds. Briscoe was able to hold off the field on a late, furious race restart with ten laps remaining, making a strong statement about his championship intentions.

“Just didn’t have enough for the 98 [Briscoe], a lot of race cars out here and one space shuttle,” Gragson said of Briscoe.

Briscoe Move on to the Next Playoff Round

The victory earns the 25-year old Indiana-native Briscoe an automatic bid into the second round of the Playoffs with two races – at Talladega Superspeedway and the Charlotte Roval – remaining in this opening Playoff round. It’s the first time in his two seasons at the Xfinity Series level that Briscoe has swept both stage victories en route to a race win.

The Rest of the Best

Daniel Hemric finished third, one of only two non-Playoff drivers among the top-ten at Vegas. Playoff competitors Justin Allgaier and Ryan Sieg round out the top-five. Regular-season champion Austin Cindric was sixth, followed by Michael Annett, Anthony Alfredo (the other non-Playoff driver in the top-ten), Harrison Burton, and Justin Haley.

Playoff drivers Brandon Jones and Riley Herbst finished 11th and 12th. Brandon Brown and Ross Chastain finished 15th and 16th – Chastain’s 15 laps led second to Briscoe’s effort.

Chase Briscoe Holds Off the Competition

While restarts were dramatic as drivers made daring moves to challenge Briscoe and negotiate their places, Briscoe was inevitably able to hold his place out front. He led by more than four seconds with 25 laps remaining to increase his advantage to more than six seconds with 20 laps remaining when he radioed to his crew that he felt a small vibration. He was reminded of his healthy lead and reassured it was his race to manage – that all was okay. And indeed it was for Briscoe.

“First off, incredible car by everybody at Stewart-Haas and that made my job way too easy, honestly,” Briscoe said, acknowledging, “We’ve had a lot of wins this year, but this was by far our most dominant car. I’m so glad I can sleep a little bit easer this week going into Talladega and the [Charlotte] Roval and just enjoy.”

“I knew this team is fully capable of achieving that and even more. I just can’t say thank you enough to [team owners] Gene Haas and Tony Stewart and everybody that lets me drive these race cars.

“It’s been an unbelievable season and we’ve still got six more wins to try and gain and a championship so that’s what we’ll try to do. 

“I’m so happy to be able to start the playoffs like that.”

The NASCAR Xfinity Series Point Standings

The outcome gives Briscoe the automatic ticket to Round 2 and leaves Cindric leading the standings, 17 points ahead of Allgaier. Gragson is next, 25 points behind Cindric. Despite the impressive Vegas showing, Sieg is ninth place in the standings – eight points behind Chastain in the final transfer position for Round 2.

Up Next

Annett is tied with Sieg. Herbst is one point behind them and Brown is only ten points off Chastain’s pace in a highly-competitive situation heading into next Saturday’s Ag-Pro 300 at Talladega Superspeedway (4:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

NASCAR Xfinity Series Race – 3rd Annual Alsco 300

Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Las Vegas, Nevada

Saturday, September 26, 2020

                   1. (1)  Chase Briscoe (P), Ford, 200.

                   2. (6)  Noah Gragson (P), Chevrolet, 200.

                   3. (14)  Daniel Hemric, Chevrolet, 200.

                   4. (3)  Justin Allgaier (P), Chevrolet, 200.

                   5. (12)  Ryan Sieg (P), Chevrolet, 200.

                   6. (2)  Austin Cindric (P), Ford, 200.

                   7. (13)  Michael Annett (P), Chevrolet, 200.

                   8. (8)  Anthony Alfredo, Chevrolet, 200.

                   9. (5)  Harrison Burton # (P), Toyota, 200.

                   10. (10)  Justin Haley (P), Chevrolet, 200.

                   11. (7)  Brandon Jones (P), Toyota, 200.

                   12. (9)  Riley Herbst # (P), Toyota, 200.

                   13. (15)  Jeremy Clements, Chevrolet, 200.

                   14. (20)  Brett Moffitt(i), Chevrolet, 200.

                   15. (11)  Brandon Brown (P), Chevrolet, 200.

                   16. (4)  Ross Chastain (P), Chevrolet, 200.

                   17. (29)  Austin Hill(i), Toyota, 199.

                   18. (18)  Josh Williams, Chevrolet, 199.

                   19. (32)  Myatt Snider #, Chevrolet, 199.

                   20. (26)  Stefan Parsons, Toyota, 199.

                   21. (25)  Colby Howard, Chevrolet, 198.

                   22. (22)  Tommy Joe Martins, Chevrolet, 198.

                   23. (24)  Jesse Little #, Chevrolet, 198.

                   24. (17)  Gray Gaulding(i), Chevrolet, 197.

                   25. (31)  Bayley Currey(i), Chevrolet, 197.

                   26. (28)  BJ McLeod, Chevrolet, 197.

                   27. (27)  Joe Graf Jr #, Chevrolet, 196.

                   28. (21)  Timmy Hill(i), Toyota, 196.

                   29. (30)  Dexter Bean, Chevrolet, 195.

                   30. (23)  Matt Mills, Chevrolet, 194.

                   31. (34)  Kody Vanderwal #, Chevrolet, 191.

                   32. (16)  Alex Labbe, Chevrolet, Electrical, 179.

                   33. (19)  Jeffrey Earnhardt, Chevrolet, 166.

                   34. (35)  Vinnie Miller, Chevrolet, Too Slow, 51.

                   35. (36)  Chad Finchum, Toyota, Suspension, 36.

                   36. (33)  Kyle Weatherman, Chevrolet, Accident, 7.

The Alsco 300 Stats

Average Speed of Race Winner:  127.796 mph.

Time of Race:  Two Hrs, 20 Mins, 51 Secs. The Margin of Victory:  1.370 Seconds.

Caution Flags:  Six for 28 laps.

Lead Changes:  Eight among five drivers.

Lap Leaders:   C. Briscoe (P) 1-13;A. Cindric (P) 14-23;R. Chastain (P) 24-38;C. Briscoe (P) 39-50;R. Sieg (P) 51;C. Briscoe (P) 52-147;R. Sieg (P) 148-149;M. Annett (P) 150-157;C. Briscoe (P) 158-200.

Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Lead, Laps Led):  Chase Briscoe (P) four times for 164 laps; Ross Chastain (P) one time for 15 laps; Austin Cindric (P) one time for ten laps; Michael Annett (P) one time for eight laps; Ryan Sieg (P) two times for three laps.

Stage 1 Top-Ten: 98,10,39,9,21,11,22,8,19,18

Stage 2 Top-Ten: 98,9,22,39,21,19,11,8,7,18