NASCAR Sprint Cup Series 2016 Daytona 500 Preview


NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Next Race: Daytona 500

The Place: Daytona International Speedway

The Date: Sunday, Feb. 21

The Time: 1 p.m. ET

TV: FOX, Noon ET

Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Ch. 90

Distance: 500 miles (200 laps)


Logano(ther) One: No. 22 Ford Driver Looks to

Capture Second Straight Daytona 500 Victory

With a visit to Victory Lane in Sunday’s Daytona 500, Joey Logano would become only the fourth driver to win The Great American Race in consecutive seasons. The three drivers who have taken the checkered flag in the Daytona 500 two years in a row are Richard Petty (1973-74), Cale Yarborough (1983-84) and Sterling Marlin (1994-95). Continue reading

Denny Hamlin Wins Action-Packed Sprint Unlimited at Daytona

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Saturday’s Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway ended with a mere handful of cars undamaged—and race winner Denny Hamlin’s Toyota wasn’t one of them.

But Hamlin got his wreck out of the way early in a two-car incident with Ricky Stenhouse Jr.’s Ford on Lap 13 and won the race in overtime with a large swatch of silver tape on the right side of his No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Camry.

Hamlin triumphed in the season-opening non-points event for the second time in three years (and third time overall) and gave JGR its fourth Sprint Unlimited victory in the last five years.
Continue reading

Former Michael Waltrip Racing Drivers Find Comfort with New Teams in 2016

Photos - Getty Images

Photos – Getty Images

Since Michael Waltrip Racing bowed out of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, there were a lot of employees, not just drivers, looking for a place with other teams. For two drivers, Clint Bowyer and David Ragan, they were able to get rides for 2016 and beyond securing their future. It’s always a roller coaster when drivers and other crew members are left to find work elsewhere when their company closes due to lack of ownership or funding. Continue reading

Brian Vickers: The Forgotten Michael Waltrip Racing Driver

Photo - Getty Images

Photo – Getty Images

Since Michael Waltrip Racing announced they were closing their doors back in August, we knew a lot of crew members and other employees would be out of work once the season ended. The organization allowed drivers Clint Bowyer and David Ragan to find rides elsewhere even during the season. So far, Bowyer has signed a one-year deal with HScott Motorsports in 2016 while being the replacement driver in waiting for Tony Stewart in 2017. As of now, Ragan is still looking for a new ride. Continue reading

NASCAR Hot Topic Sound Off – Vickers, Cautions, Tracks and Martinsville

NASCAR Hot Topic Sound Off 10 to 10:30 pm ET Every Monday

NASCAR Hot Topic Sound Off 10 to 10:30 pm ET Every Monday

With such a controversial Sprint Cup Series race at Auto Club Speedway, I want to give my perspective and seek out your view on a variety of topics about what happened in the Auto Club Speedway this past weekend. Then, looking ahead, I give three of my favorites for the Sprint Cup race at Martinsville this coming weekend – who is your favorite? Continue reading